School Year

School Year

The school year commences on 1st September, with normal lessons starting the following day.

The school year is divided into two semesters. The first semester runs from 1st September to the end of December. The second semester starts at the beginning of January and ends in the first week of June (not including final exams). Progress reports are issued after the end of each term.

There are a number of fixed holidays in the school calendar. They are as follows:


  School Holidays

1st October – Cyprus Independence Day

28th October - Anniversary of “OXI”

Archbishop’s Name Day

Christmas holidays (from 24th December to 6th January inclusive)

30th January – Three Hierarchs Day

Green Monday (no fixed date - depends on Easter)

25th March - Anniversary of the Rebirth of Hellenism

1st April - Anniversary of the start of the EOKA Struggle for Freedom

Easter holidays (from Holy Monday to the Sunday celebrating St. Thomas)

1st May - Labour Day

Pentecost - The Cataclysm

11th June - St Barnabas' Day